top of page

2023-24 Contest Bracket
Announcing the Elite 8 Teams

The Brewer Foundation and New York University are proud to announce the “Sweet 16” teams for the 23rd annual International Public Policy Forum (IPPF) – the first and only contest that gives high school students around the world the opportunity to engage in written and oral debates on issues of public policy.

Results of the Sweet 16 Round


  • Grand Oaks High School, Spring, Texas, advances over Rowland Hall, Salt Lake City, Utah.

  • Ivy Bridge Academy, Johns Creek, Georgia, advances over Blue Valley High School, Stilwell, Kansas.

  • West Anchorage High School, Anchorage, Alaska, advances over Dallas Urban Debate Alliance, Dallas, Texas.

  • Hamilton High School, Chandler, Arizona, advances over Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology, Alexandria, Virginia.

  • Davidson Academy of Nevada, Reno, Nevada, advances over Kealakehe High School, Kailua-Kona, Hawaii. 

  • Coppell High School, Coppell, Texas, advances over Nova 42 Academy, Pasadena, California. 

  • Damien Memorial School, Honolulu, Hawaii, advances over Chengdu Shude High School, Chengdu, China. 

  • Westwood High School, Austin, Texas, advances over BASIS Scottsdale, Scottsdale, Arizona.


Congratulations to each of our "Sweet 16" teams. Our judges were impressed with each team's depth of knowledge, writing, and skillful advocacy.

The advancing "Elite 8" teams earn an all-expenses-paid trip to New York City to compete in the IPPF Finals, where the IPPF World Champion will be awarded a $10,000 grand prize. 

bottom of page