Advisory Board

Will Baker

Will Baker is the director of the New York University (NYU) Global Debate Program, which extends debate across the NYU network from Abu Dhabi to Shanghai. He also serves as executive director of the Associated Leaders of Urban Debate. Mr. Baker is an adjunct professor at NYU and head coach of the award-winning NYU Debate Team.

Director, NYU Global Debate Program

Maggie Berthiaume

Maggie Berthiaume is the Director of Debate at Woodward Academy where she coached the 2012 National Debate Coaches Association champions. She served on the board of the National Debate Coaches Association for six years and is a former member of the editorial board of the Contemporary Argumentation and Debate: The Journal of the Cross Examination Debate Association. She previously debated for Dartmouth College and the Blake School in Minneapolis, MN. While at Dartmouth, she was twice a first round at-large invitee to the National Debate Tournament, reaching the quarterfinals of the NDT and the Semifinals of the CEDA Nationals.

Director of Debate, Woodward Academy

William A. Brewer III

William Brewer co-founded the national litigation firm of Brewer, Attorneys & Counselors in 1984.  Since that time, he has earned a national reputation as one of the most successful lawyers in the United States practicing exclusively in the field of complex commercial litigation and dispute resolution. He is also a co-founding partner of the Brewer Foundation. A former debater himself, Mr. Brewer helped found the IPPF. In 2008, he was named “Communicator of the Year” by the National Forensic League.

Partner, Brewer, Attorneys & Counselors

David Huston

Dave Huston has coached debate for over 30 years and has been a part of the IPPF competition since its second year. He has had three teams compete in the final round of the IPPF. Mr. Huston serves on the IPPF Topic Committee and has judged the IPPF written and oral competitions for years. In addition to his IPPF activities, Mr. Huston has served two terms on the National Speech and Debate Association (NSDA) Board of Directors. He has been a district chair for the NSDA in Iowa and Texas. He is highly skilled at tabulating debate tournaments, serving as the tabulation director for the Glenbrooks tournament, the Tournament of Champions, Greenhill, and the Texas Forensics Association State Tournament. His debate teams have won numerous state, regional, and national competitions. Mr. Huston is an Emory University/Barkley Forum Key Coach, a member of the Texas Forensic Association Hall of Fame and the NSDA Hall of Fame. 

Debate Coach, Colleyville Heritage High School

Irena Kotikova

Irena Kotikova is a research and development officer at the Ministry of Education, Youth and Sport in the Czech Republic, where she works on allocating funding from the EU towards Czech strategic priorities in science and research. She is the former executive director of the International Debate Education Association in New York. Originally from the Czech Republic, Ms. Kotikova was a national high school debate champion and represented her country at the World Schools Debating Championships. After graduating from Charles University in Astrophysics, Ms. Kotikova worked for Google. Ms. Kotikova was also a coach of the 2012 IPPF champions, Team Czech Republic.

Research and Development Officer, Czech Republic Ministry of Education

Alexandre Pouille

Alex Pouille is the Country Director of Spain for the world's largest brewer, Anheuser-Busch InBev and is based out of Madrid. Mr. Pouille was an award-winning high school debater at the Alexander W. Dreyfoos, Jr. School of the Arts of Florida. With his help, his school won the IPPF in 2006 and 2007. Mr. Pouille now heads the IPPF Circle of Champions - an IPPF alumni organization.

Country Director, Anheuser-Busch InBev

Please reload

Noel Selegzi

Noel Selegzi is currently the Vice President for Institutional Advancement at Don Bosco Preparatory High School and has coached debate at Hunter College High School for over 30 years. He also helped found the International Debate Education Association, and for many years directed the Open Society Foundations’ Network Debate Program. A graduate of Amherst College and Columbia University, he has helped establish debate programs in over 40 countries around the world. 

Vice President for Institutional Advancement, Don Bosco Preparatory High School

John Sexton

John Sexton is President Emeritus of New York University, having served as president from 2001 through 2015. Before being named NYU’s president, he was dean of the university’s law school for fourteen years. He is a member of the Council on Foreign Relations, and has served as the chairman of the board of the Federal Reserve Bank of New York. He has received numerous awards including "Outstanding High School Debate Coach of the Last 50 Years."

President Emeritus, New York University

Trey Smith

Trey Smith is the New Mexico District Chair of the National Speech and Debate Association (NSDA). He was recently named the incoming principal at East Mountain High School. He has coached multiple teams to the Elite Eight rounds of the IPPF and was the author of the 2018-2019 IPPF Topic Primer. A two-diamond coach with the NSDA, Mr. Smith has coached over 70 students to the National Tournament, including multiple national finalists. In 2018, Mr. Smith was named the New Mexico Educator of the Year. In 2020, Mr. Smith will serve as the host for the NSDA National Tournament, the world's largest academic competition, in Albuquerque.  

Incoming Principal, East Mountain High School

Christina Tallungan Phillips

Christina Tallungan Phillips is the Director of Debate at Notre Dame High School in Sherman Oaks, California, an NDCA Board member, and a member of the policy advisory committee for the Tournament of Champions. Her students have reached the elimination rounds at many leading tournaments, including the NSDA Championships, NDCA Championships and Tournament of Champions. Mrs. Phillips was a four year CEDA/NDT debater at the University of Southern California. Along with serving on the IPPF Advisory Board, Mrs. Phillips is a long-time member of the IPPF Topic Selection Committee. She coached the 2019 IPPF World Champions, the 2011 second place and 2010 third place IPPF teams.

Director of Debate, Notre Dame High School

Melissa Maxcy Wade

Melissa Maxcy Wade, M.A., M.T.S., Th.M. is the President of the Glenn Pelham Foundation for Debate Education. She is also the former Executive Director of Forensics at Emory University. From 1972-2015, Wade oversaw the growth of one of the most dynamic intercollegiate debate and education programs in the U.S. Ms. Wade was a principle founder of the Urban Debate League, a national education movement targeting secondary students from socio-economically challenged schools in more than 20 major U.S. cities. She coached Emory to over thirty-five national college championships, and has received every major college coaching and service award in her field.

President, Glenn Pelham Foundation for Debate Education

Please reload

1717 MAIN STREET, STE. 5900


Tel: 214-653-4026




  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

© 2023 by the Brewer Foundation. Proudly created with