judge bios

Interested in learning more about the judges who evaluated the final debate at the 2018-19 IPPF Finals? Read the following! 

Ms. Maggie Berthiaume is the Director of Debate at Woodward Academy. At Woodward, Ms. Berthiaume has coached the champions or finalists of nearly every major tournament in America. Her teams have also won the state tournament in five of the eight years that she's served as director.


As a debater, Ms. Berthiaume competed for the Blake School in Minneapolis, Minnesota, and Dartmouth College. While at Dartmouth, she reached the semifinals of the CEDA Nationals and was twice a first round at-large invitee to the National Debate Tournament, reaching the quarterfinals her senior year.

Mr. William Brewer co-founded the national litigation firm of Brewer, Attorneys & Counselors in 1984.  Since that time, he has earned a national reputation as one of the most successful lawyers in the United States practicing exclusively in the field of complex commercial litigation and dispute resolution. Mr. Brewer is also a co-founding partner of the Brewer Foundation.

A former debater himself, Mr. Brewer helped found the International Public Policy Forum and now serves on its Advisory Board. In 2008, he was named “Communicator of the Year” by the National Forensic League.

To learn more about Mr. Brewer, please visit the Brewer, Attorneys & Counselors website

Dr. Ed Lee III is Senior Director of the Alben W. Barkley Forum for Debate Deliberation, and Dialogue, which houses Emory’s nationally acclaimed debate team and its cutting-edge dialogue programs. As Senior Director, Dr. Lee works directly with Emory Admissions and Emory's Woodruff Scholars Program to recruit and support high-caliber students. He also works with the Glen Pelham Alumni Foundation to maintain purposeful and engaging relations with Emory alums.


Dr. Lee was the 2015 Ross K. Smith National Coach of the Year and a three-time recipient of the James Unger Award, which is given to the coach of the best debate team in the country. He leads a debate program that consistently develops nationally ranked debaters while pursuing an access mission that provides the opportunity for debate training to all Emory undergraduates. Before coming to Emory, Dr. Lee served as the Director of Debate at the University of Alabama and the Director of UC Berkeley’s Bay Area Urban Debate League. 


Dr. Lee serves as the Curriculum Director and Lead Facilitator for the Social+Justice Innovation Institute. Additionally, he is the primary contributor to Inklings: A  Social+Justice Innovation Blog. Dr. Lee is a highly sought-after trainer and facilitator whose work focuses on the interplay between communication, culture, and diversity and how those can be harnessed to improve the workplace and other communities. 


Dr. Lee is a relentless advocate for public debate and dialogue. He is national media commentator for U.S. Presidential Debates and is routinely seen on CNN discussing presidential debate strategies and their impact on national politics. Additionally, he is the creator and design lead of the Emory Conversation Project (ECP), a program that trains students in the art of facilitation and negotiation to equip them to lead public and engaging conversations about and across their differences.  


Dr. Lee has a Doctorate in Higher Education Management from the University of Georgia’s Institute for Higher Education (IHE), a Master’s degree in Communication Studies from the University of Alabama, and is currently studying the interconnections between religion, justice, and peace building at Emory University’s Candler School of Theology. 

Dr. Richard N. Haass is in his sixteenth year as President of the Council on Foreign Relations, an independent, nonpartisan membership organization, think tank, publisher, and educational institution dedicated to being a resource to help people better understand the world and the foreign policy choices facing the United States and other countries.


In 2013, he served as the chair of the multiparty negotiations in Northern Ireland that provided the foundation for the 2014 Stormont House Agreement. For his efforts to promote peace and conflict resolution, he received the 2013 Tipperary International Peace Award.


From January 2001 to June 2003, Dr. Haass was director of policy planning for the Department of State, where he was a principal advisor to Secretary of State Colin Powell. Confirmed by the U.S. Senate to hold the rank of ambassador, Dr. Haass also served as U.S. coordinator for policy toward the future of Afghanistan and U.S. envoy to the Northern Ireland peace process. In recognition of his service, he received the State Department’s Distinguished Honor Award.


Dr. Haass has extensive additional government experience. From 1989 to 1993, he was special assistant to President George H.W. Bush and senior director for Near East and South Asian affairs on the staff of the National Security Council. In 1991, Dr. Haass was awarded the Presidential Citizens Medal for his contributions to the development and articulation of U.S. policy during Operations Desert Shield and Desert Storm. Previously, he served in the Departments of State (1981–1985) and Defense (1979–1980), and was a legislative aide in the U.S. Senate.


To learn more about Dr. Haass, please visit the Council on Foreign Relations website.  

Dr. John Sexton is President Emeritus of New York University, having served as president from 2001 through 2015. Prior to being named NYU’s president, Dr. Sexton was dean of the university’s law school for fourteen years.

Before coming to NYU, Dr. Sexton served as law clerk to Chief Justice Warren Burger of the United States Supreme Court (1980-1981), and to Judges David Bazelon and Harold Leventhal of the United States Court of Appeals (1979-1980). For ten years (1983-1993), he served as special master supervising pretrial proceedings in the Love Canal litigation.


Dr. Sexton is a member of the Council on Foreign Relations and has served as the chairman of the board of the Federal Reserve Bank of New York. He has received numerous awards, including "Outstanding High School Debate Coach of the Last 50 Years."

To learn more about Dr. Sexton please visit the NYU Law website.  

1717 MAIN STREET, STE. 5900



Tel: 214-653-4026




  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

© 2023 by the Brewer Foundation